Skip to main content

What Are Class 7 MOTs And Do I Need One? What To Know

Written on .

A Class 7 MOT applies to commercial vehicles over a certain weight. Based on your particular situation, what can you expect from this test, and how do you pass?

  • Learn
  • General
  • What Are Class 7 MOTs And Do I Need One? What To Know

In total, there are eight main classes of MOT. The most common is the Class 4 MOT, which applies to the average car, as well as taxis and lightweight goods vehicles. However, if you have a Class 7 vehicle, then your MOT will look different, cost more, and require a wider variety of checks.

So which vehicles fall under a Class 7 MOT? What can you expect from this test, and what are the best ways to ensure you'll pass? Let's take a look.

What Is A Class 7 MOT?

MOT tests are both a legal requirement and a long-standing feature of driving in the UK. The majority of vehicles must pass these annual tests in order to be insured and deemed legal for use on the roads.

An MOT confirms that a vehicle meets the established environmental and road-safety standards. These assessments can only be carried out by approved MOT centres, and they involve detailed checks of a wide range of vehicle components.

Class 7 MOTs apply to commercial vehicles that have a gross weight of between 3,000kg and 3,500kg. These include larger van models, like the Mercedes Sprinter and Ford Transit. If you're unsure about whether your vehicle falls into this class, you can check the UK government website here.

Conversely, if you're unclear about your vehicle's weight category, you can check your V5 registration document or handbook. This should give you the information you need. You can also reach out to the manufacturer and give them your vehicle details, including the vehicle identification number (VIN). They can then verify your weight category.

What's Included In A Class 7 MOT Test?

During a Class 7 MOT, the assessor will look at many different aspects of your vehicle. Because of the gross weight of commercial vehicles, they will pay special attention to the brakes, verifying both their condition and operation. This includes:

  • Service brakes
  • Parking brakes
  • Secondary brakes
  • Anti-lock braking systems

Your tester will also evaluate the steering, with a focus on everything from the:

  • Steering wheel
  • Steering column
  • Forks
  • Yokes

Visibility for the driver will be assessed next, including the condition of the:

  • Windscreen
  • Windscreen wipers
  • Field of vision
  • Bonnet catchers

Other areas that your MOT will cover include:

  • Lights
  • Reflectors
  • Electrical equipment
  • Wheels
  • Tyres
  • Axles
  • Suspension
  • Bumpers
  • Exhaust system
  • Bodywork
  • Doors
  • Seats
  • Floor
  • Seat belts
  • Airbags
  • Horn
  • Speedometer
  • Electronic stability control

This is followed by environmental checks that include:

  • Exhaust emissions
  • Noise levels
  • Fluid leaks

Can I Be Exempt From A Class 7 MOT?

In the first three years of life for your commercial vehicle, it will be exempt from MOTs. However, the test will become mandatory after this point. You will have to submit your vehicle to the test, pass, and receive a certificate of approval each following year.

The penalties for driving without a valid, in-date MOT can include a fine of up to £2,500 and three penalty points on your licence. Because of this, it's essential to keep track of your testing schedule and book a new one in time. You must choose an approved MOT centre to carry out the checks.

Pass Or Fail: What Happens Next?

If your vehicle passes its MOT, you will receive a "pass" certificate from the test centre and the information will be recorded in the MOT database. You may get a "straight pass," which requires no further work on the vehicle, or you might get a "partial pass." This includes a list of "advisory" or "minor" problems that you will need to fix before receiving your certificate.

If you fail the MOT check, you will receive a list of any "dangerous" or "major" issues that need to be addressed. The failure will be recorded in the MOT database and you must take the test a second time, after the issues have been rectified. If you think the decision is wrong, you can appeal it.

You may be permitted to drive your vehicle away to have the necessary repairs carried out if your current MOT certificate is still in date or if no "dangerous" problems were listed. However, if you don't meet those criteria, you will need to get the problems fixed before you drive anywhere.

Entrust Your Servicing And MOT Tests To The Experts

The experts at your local Autofusion centre are there to make sure your vehicle is in the best condition possible. Book servicing to ensure your vehicle is ready for the test, or to help it pass a failed test. Alternatively, you can save time and money by combining the two in our service + MOT package.